Mobile Menu

In a Banner Season, DC Track and Field Teams Clinch District Championships

In a Banner Season, DC Track and Field Teams Clinch District Championships

The Boys and Girls Track teams experienced banner seasons this past spring. Both teams were undefeated in BAL dual meet competition. The team also competed in regional invitationals. At the league championships, the girls team placed first; the boys were second to a strong Church Farm team. Evezi Omuyeh was selected as the Girls Most Valuable Field Award for her efforts; CJ Simbiri was chosen as the Boys Most Valuable Field Award winner. Head Coach “Doc” McFarland was chosen as the Girls Coach of the Year. 

Thirty-two boys and girls qualified for the District I-AA at Coatesville High School. The girls won the district championship for the second year in a row and the boys finished second. At the meet, twelve DC athletes were district champions (first place) and qualified for the state meet at Shippensburg University. Evezi Omuyeh ’23 placed 8th in discus and CJ Simbiri ’24 finished first in the triple jump. He became DC’s third Track and Field State Champion. Evezi was also chosen Second Team All Delco and CJ qualified for the New Balance National meet in Philadelphia in June. 

District and State Awards 

  • CJ Simbiri - PIAA AA Triple Jump Champion
  • Evezi Omuyeh - Medaled (8th place) at Track and Field State Championships
  • Evezi Omuyeh - District 1 AA Champion - Shot Put
  • Luke Bushra - District 1 AA Champion - Discus, State Qualifier 
  • Girls Track & Field - District 1 AA Champion, State Qualifier
  • Josh Colonia - District 1 AA Champion - Shot Put, State Qualifier
  • Hallie Kees - District 1 AA Champion - Javelin, State Qualifier, All Delco - Second Team (Discus)

All BAL Awards

  • Girls Track & Field (Champions)
  • George McFarland (Girls Coach of the Year)
  • Kaylani Barnes (4x100m - First Team, 100m - Second Team)
  • Luke Bushra (Discus - First Team)
  • Marielle Clayton (200m - First Team, 300m Hurdles - First team, 4x100m - First Team, 4x400m - First Team) 
  • Ella Clipston (4x400m - First Team, 1600m - Second Team, 4x800m - Second Team
  • Josh Colonia (4x100 - First Team, Shot Put - First Team)
  • Judah Cooper - (4x400m - Second Team)
  • Joey Cuozzo (4x800 - First Team, 1600m - Second Team)
  • Maryn D’Antonio (4x400m - First Team, 400m - Second Team, 4x800m - Second Team)
  • Noah Dutton (4x800 - First Team)
  • Luke Fox (Discus - Second Team)
  • Josiah Gaines (High Jump - First Team) 
  • Niamh Ireland (Discus - Second Team)
  • Makiyah Keys (Long Jump - First Team, Triple Jump - First Team, 100m - First Team, 4x100m - First Team)
  • Andrew Ko (4x800 - First Team, 4x400m - Second Team)
  • Kate Latchford (Discus - Second Team)
  • Jonas Ma (4x100 - First Team) 
  • Elizabeth Matty (4x100m - First Team, Triple Jump - Second Team, Long Jump - Second Team)
  • Kate Myers (400m - Second Team, 4x800m - Second Team)
  • Titus Myers (Triple Jump - Honorable Mention)
  • MJ Oh (4x100 - First Team)
  • Evezi Omuyeh (Girls MVP, Shot Put - First Team, Discus - First Team, Javelin - First Team)
  • Annabelle Sacks (100m Hurdles - Second Team, 300m Hurdles - Second Team)
  • CJ Simbiri  (Boys MVP, Triple Jump - First Team, Javelin, First Team, 4x100 - First Team)
  • Lily Rose Spicer (200m  - Second Team)
  • Blake Tanis (4x800 - First Team, Javelin - Second Team, 4x400m - Second Team)
  • Connor Transue (10m high Hurdle - Honorable Mention)
  • Idara Umoh (Triple Jump - Honorable Mention, Long Jump - Honorable Mention)
  • Caleb Videon (4x400m - Second Team)
  • Gabrielle Watson (800m - First Team, 4x400m - First Team, 4x800m - Second Team)